DrinkedIn Trends

Trending articles about cocktail recipes, bars, pubs, beer, wine, whisky, vodka, parties and much more...

A Comprehensive Guide to Understanding the Type of Whiskies


Whisky is a hop-less version of the beer that may be brewed from maize, rye, wheat, barley, or oats. It is a beverage that is liked by a large number of people. But you probably didn't realize there are six distinct kinds of whiskey, did you? It is made from various grains, each of which has its unique sugar content.

The greater the sugar content of the grains used to make it, the sweeter the whiskey will taste. Whisky will always have an alcohol content of at least 40%, regardless of the grain used to make it. Also, diluting your dram might make it taste better.

So, let's go through the various kinds. The following is a list of the distinct types of whiskies:

#1. Scotch 

At least three years must pass for Scotch whiskey to mature in wood barrels. It is typically prepared from 100% malted barley. However, maize and wheat are two other grains that may be used in their production.

Scotch lovers are always scouting for the brands that have become increasingly popular. According to Cookout News, "The whisky will serve as the official U.S. Scotch partner of the Big Green Egg." If you want a unique flavored Scotch whiskey, you might want to try it.

#2. Irish

Oak barrels are used to mature Irish whiskey for at least three years. In traditional tiny pot stills, much like Scotch whisky, it is distilled, but unlike Scotch whisky,

Irish whiskey is triple-distilled, and Irish distillers utilize very little or no peat. After being fermented with yeast in a mash of malted barley or fermented grain, the barley is roasted in a kiln over coal or gas. It is done before being distilled and aged. Irish whiskey is known for its silkier aftertaste.

#3. Tennessee 

Tennessee whiskey is not to be confused with bourbon. It belongs to its distinct category. While a spirit that has been distilled and then aged in oak barrels is required for producing whisky or whiskey, Tennessee whiskey goes one step further.

To do this, the alcoholic beverages must first be filtered using sugar maple charcoal. It is then matured for a while in white oak barrels that have been freshly charred.

#4. Rye

Tennessee whiskey needs to have at least 51 percent genuine rye grain in its mashes, and American rye whiskey needs to have at least 51 percent actual rye grain in its mashes.

It is interesting to note that similar legislative criteria do not exist in Canada, although rye is a highly popular option when it comes to spirit beverages.

#5. Canadian

Because Canadian whisky is made with less rye than American whiskey and sometimes employs maize instead of rye, its flavor is less robust and more honeyed than American whiskey.

It is typically matured for at least three years in barrels that have never been used, although some of it may be refilled. Before being mixed to make the final product, Canadian whiskey is often produced as two distinct whiskies—the base and the flavoring whisky—blended. 


#6. Bourbon 

Bourbon is a kind of American whiskey produced by distilling a mash mostly comprised of maize. Bourbon whiskey, like Tennessee whiskey, may only be called bourbon if the mash contains at least 51% corn. This is the same requirement as for Tennessee whiskey. 


The Best of the UK: A Foodie’s Guide to Restaurant...
Another Popular Pub Bites The Dust But Newbury Own...